Moments of Doubt and Pain

So this picture is a complete departure from what I typically paint, however, despite the fact I am not particularly “religious” I felt compelled to make this work because it is such a powerful image.

No matter what you may believe personally simply viewing something of this genre causes a feeling good, bad, ugly, in-between, and after all isn’t that what art is about.

Below are images of the progression it’s been quite a lot of research and work to try to do justice without offending as well as remain somewhat true to accounts of “historical accuracy.”

image

image

image

My plan is to add some subtle color with watercolor markers. As you can see the shades of gray  (not quite fifty) were done with Faber-Castell Pitt markers. Not that I dislike markers as much anymore lol but it has been a challenge since they are unchangeable like the weight of the scene itself.

Anyway I do hope you enjoyed this look at an artists process from blank page to near finished work. Will post an update of the finished piece.

Thanks so much for your time and Support,

Chris Mitchell

ReZilientInk

P.S. – If you enjoy my work please check out my etsy site and maybe get one for your home:

http://www.etsy.com/shop/ReZilientInk

Let me know what you think in the comments.

Hello Everyone,

So I have been working on this piece a bit and added some of the subtle watercolor tones over the gray. Though it isn’t quite finished completely yet I thought an update was in order.

Hope you enjoy and Thanks for Viewing,

Chris Mitchell,

ReZilientInk

image

So here is the finished work framed in an 11×14 inch floating frame with my own gold flake matting.

 

20160428_030149

 

 

 

 

Published by

ReZilientInk

I grew up in a small town in Kentucky. Shortly after graduating high school I enrolled in Culinary School and finished in 2007 with an associates degree in Culinary Arts. I worked  in the restaurant industry for a decade using food as my medium of expression. After losing my passion for such a fast paced high turnover career I evaluated myself and realized it wasnt really about the food it was about the art of creating something other people enjoy and admire. So I decided to get back into fine art which has been apart of my life since I was very young.

Leave a comment